About The Book

Thirteen-year-old Jonah has always known that he was adopted, and he's never thought it was any big deal. Then he and a new friend, Chip, who's also adoped, begin receiving mysterious letters. The first one says, "You are one of the missing." The second one says, "Beware! They're coming back to get you."

Jonah, Chip, and Jonah's sister, Katherine, are plunged into a mystery that involves the FBI, a vast smuggling operation, an airplane that appeared out of nowhere -- and people who seem to appear and disappear at will. The kids discover they are caught in a battle between two opposing forces that want very different things for Jonah and Chip's lives.

Do Jonah and Chip have any choice in the matter? And what should they choose when both alternatives are horrifying?

With Found, Margaret Peterson Haddix begins a new series that promises to be every bit as suspenseful as her Shadow Children series -- which has sold more than 41/2 million copies -- and proves her, once again, to be a master of the page-turner.

About The Author

The Backstage Studio

Margaret Peterson Haddix is the author of many critically and popularly acclaimed YA and middle grade novels, including the Children of Exile series, The Missing series, the Under Their Skin series, and the Shadow Children series. A graduate of Miami University (of Ohio), she worked for several years as a reporter for The Indianapolis News. She also taught at the Danville (Illinois) Area Community College. She lives with her family in Columbus, Ohio. Visit her at HaddixBooks.com.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (April 22, 2008)
  • Length: 320 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781416596929
  • Grades: 3 - 7
  • Ages: 8 - 12
  • Lexile ® 750

Browse Related Books


Awards and Honors

  • Pacific Northwest Young Reader's Choice Award
  • Maud Hart Lovelace Award Master List (MN)
  • ILA Young Adults' Choices
  • Young Hoosier Book Award Master List (IN)
  • Massachusetts Children's Book Award
  • Indian Paintbrush Book Award Master List (WY)
  • Colorado Children's Book Award Master List
  • Great Stone Face Book Award Master List (NH)
  • Texas Lone Star Reading List
  • Pacific Northwest Young Reader's Choice Award Master List
  • Sunshine State Young Reader's Award (FL)
  • Sunshine State Young Reader's Award Master List (FL)
  • Volunteer State Book Award (TN)
  • Mark Twain Award Master List (MO)
  • North Carolina Children's Book Award Master List
  • North Carolina Young Adult Book Award Nominee
  • Buckeye Children's Book Award (OH)
  • Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Award
  • Sasquatch Reading Award (WA)
  • Nene Award (HI)
  • Isinglass Teen Read List Selection
  • Choose to Read Ohio Booklist Selection
  • Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year Selection Title
  • Louisiana Young Readers' Choice Award

More books from this author: Margaret Peterson Haddix

More books in this series: The Missing